Homeschooling ideas and free resources for families in Ringwood

Thursday 19th March 2020

Homeschooling ideas and free resources for families in Ringwood

In this 90 second read we share a useful list of free internet resources which might prove VERY useful as parents and carers in Ringwood start homeschooling.

Out of all this uncertainty and anxiety has come plenty of positives.

The news yesterday that schools in the U.K. were to shut for the foreseeable future was met with a wave of companies and organisations offering up learning resources for free.

For every instance of selfishness, there’s been plenty more stories of community spirit and kindness.

Here’s a list of some websites people have been generously sharing which will keep the younger members of our community in Ringwood entertained, interested and motivated. Useful for adults too.

Khan Academy

https://www.khanacademy.org

Especially useful for maths and computing for all ages but other subjects at Secondary level. Note this uses the U.S. grade system, but it’s mostly common material.

BBC Learning | http://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/

This site is old and no longer updated and yet there’s so much still available, from language learning to BBC Bitesize for revision. No T.V. licence required except for content on BBC iPlayer.

Futurelearn | https://www.futurelearn.com

Free to access 100s of courses, only pay to upgrade if you need a certificate in your name (own account from age 14+ but younger learners can use a parent account).

Seneca | https://www.senecalearning.com

For those revising at GCSE or A level. Tons of free revision content. Paid access to higher level material.

Openlearn | https://www.open.edu/openlearn/

Free taster courses aimed at those considering Open University but everyone can access it. Adult level, but some e.g. nature and environment courses could well be of interest to young people.

Blockly | https://blockly.games

Learn computer programming skills – fun and free.

Scratch | https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/

Creative computer programming

Ted Ed | https://ed.ted.com

All sorts of engaging educational videos

National Geographic Kids | https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/

Activities and quizzes for younger kids.

Duolingo | https://www.duolingo.com

Learn languages for free. Web or app.

Mystery Science | https://mysteryscience.com

Free science lessons

The Kids Should See This | https://thekidshouldseethis.com

Wide range of cool educational videos

Crash Course | https://thecrashcourse.com

YouTube videos on many subjects

Crash Course Kids | https://m.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids

As above for a younger audience

Crest Awards | https://www.crestawards.org

Science awards you can complete from home.

iDEA Awards | https://idea.org.uk

Digital enterprise award scheme you can complete online.

Paw Print Badges | https://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk

Free challenge packs and other downloads. Many activities can be completed indoors. Badges cost but are optional.

Tinkercad | https://www.tinkercad.com

All kinds of making.

Prodigy Maths | https://www.prodigygame.com

Is in U.S. grades, but good for U.K. Primary age.

Cbeebies Radio | https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio

Listening activities for the younger ones.

Nature Detectives | https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetect…/

A lot of these can be done in a garden, or if you can get to a remote forest location!

British Council | https://www.britishcouncil.org/school-resources/find

Resources for English language learning

Oxford Owl for Home | https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/

Lots of free resources for Primary age

Big History Project | https://www.bighistoryproject.com/home

Aimed at Secondary age. Multi disciplinary activities.

Geography Games | https://world-geography-games.com/world.html

Geography gaming!

Blue Peter Badges | https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbbc/joinin/about-blue-peter-badges

If you have a stamp and a nearby post box.

The Artful Parent | https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/

Good, free art activities

Red Ted Art | https://www.redtedart.com

Easy arts and crafts for little ones

The Imagination Tree | https://theimaginationtree.com

Creative art and craft activities for the very youngest.

Toy Theater | https://toytheater.com/

Educational online games

D.K. Find Out | https://www.dkfindout.com/uk/

Activities and quizzes

Twinkl | https://www.twinkl.co.uk

This is more for printouts, and usually at a fee, but they are offering a month of free access to parents in the event of school closures.

Thanks to everyone in Ringwood and the U.K., and indeed the World, who has shared useful information such as this.

At Fells New Forest Property, we are doing all we can to support the community in these testing times. If we can assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to get in touch and we’ll do our best to help.

NEED PROPERTY ADVICE?